We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

1981.3958

1981.3958
1981.3958
1981.3958
1981.3958
Comments (0)
4941
"South Front of St Albans Gaol 1797 copy of a drawing by Thos. Baskerville."
1981.3958
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Prints, watercolours and drawings
1981.3958
Watercolour painting showing a view of the south front of St Albans Gateway, formerly used as the town gaol, looking up Abbey Mill Lane. A copy of a drawing by Thomas Baskerville. The Abbey Gateway is the only building that remains of the monastery buildings of the Abbey of St Albans. Built in 1365, it was used for many years as a prison. It ceased to be the town gaol in 1867 when a purpose built prison was built on Grimston Road, near the station. It now forms part of St Albans School. In the Gatehouse Prison, offenders were given bread but there was no heating. Passing strangers often heard a pleading voice from within begging them to put alms into an old shoe, which the prisoners let down by string from a window, to enable them to have a fire. Apparently prisoners could escape from the prison by climbing out of a window and jumping on to a tree.
  • watercolour
  • [unknown]
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 23:07:19
10871_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
613.00 KB
2337 px
2776 px
324