We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

2006.6939

2006.6939
2006.6939
2006.6939
2006.6939
Comments (0)
5726
"Prison Gate, St Albans." 1816
2006.6939
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Prints, watercolours and drawings
2006.6939
Etching showing the view looking through St Albans Abbey gateway, at one time used as a prison. Initialled J.C.B. (bottom left), published 1816 (bottom right). The Abbey Gateway is the only building that remains of the monastery buildings of the Abbey of St Albans. Built in 1365, it was used for many years as a prison. It ceased to be the town gaol in 1867 when a purpose built prison was built on Grimston Road, near the station. It now forms part of St Albans School. In the Gatehouse Prison, offenders were given bread but there was no heating. Passing strangers often heard a pleading voice from within begging them to put alms into an old shoe, which the prisoners let down by string from a window, to enable them to have a fire. Apparently prisoners could escape from the prison by climbing out of a window and jumping on to a tree.
  • etching
  • [unknown]
1816
  • Georgian (1714 - 1837)
tasks-admin
2016-03-01 01:14:43
12409_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
1.47 MB
2238 px
3064 px
372