We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

2007.5368

2007.5368
2007.5368
2007.5368
2007.5368
Comments (0)
7310
F.G.Kitton - 'Almshouses for Three Poor Widows'
2007.5368
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Prints, watercolours and drawings
2007.5368
2005.5805; 2008.5507
Line block reproduction of a drawing by Frederick Kitton, signed bottom left, 140x103 mm. These almshouses stood on the site of the Old Town Hall, at the junction with Chequer Street. The sign hanging outside the almshouses reads "White Hart Inn". This building was demolished in 1829 to build the Town Hall. The large brick building with the balcony is the building on St Peter's Street known as "The Mansion", currently Dolland and Aichison's opticians. Another watercolour of this view refers to these as "Almshouses of Clarkes Charity", which may refer to Dr Samuel Clark (1684 - 1750), founder of the Charity School in St Albans and pastor at Dagnall Street Methodist chapel.
Compare to 2005.5805, watercolour - which came first? Also near duplicate of 2008.5507 (not scanned, also box 67).
  • line block print
  • Kitton, Frederick G.
  • Victorian (1837 - 1901)
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 20:27:44
15652_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
379.00 KB
1094 px
2620 px
401