We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

1994.190

1994.190
1994.190
1994.190
1994.190
Comments (0)
3432
J. Schnebbilie - 'St Albans', 1809.
1994.190
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Prints, watercolours and drawings
1994.190
1982.2180
Engraving, "Drawn by Schnebbelie, & Engraved by Hawkins. Published by J. Stratford, 112, Holborn Hill, Dec. 16th, 1809. For Dr. Hughson's Description of London." St Albans, showing view of St Albans Abbey from the east on the hill in the distance and a horse-drawn wagon carrying hay in the foreground. It appears that this is the view from around the bottom of Holywell Hill, where it joins St Stephen's Hill. Behind the cach is the foreground is a pond. The coach on the other side of the pond appears to be arriving at the Spencer Estate which once stood at the bottom of Holywell Hill. It was one of the residences of John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough (1650- 1722) and his wife Sarah, neé Jennings (1660- 1744) but has since been demolished. The buildings on the right may be part of Holywell House.
Duplicate of 1982.2180. Compare with 1981.3948 for evidence of location.
  • etching
  • Schnebbilie, J.
1809
  • Georgian (1714 - 1837)
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 17:50:20
7733_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
960.00 KB
1834 px
3064 px
813