We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

1994.286

1994.286
1994.286
1994.286
1994.286
Comments (0)
3643
"Castle Prison at St Albans, Herts."
1994.286
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Prints, watercolours and drawings
1994.286
1994.287
Steel engraving showing "Castle Prison at St Albans, Herts. Engraved by T.Matthews from a drawing by T.Halsell for the Antiquarian Library." Published London by W.Clarke, , New Bond Street, Jan 1, 1817. The Abbey Gateway is the only building that remains of the monastery buildings of the Abbey of St Albans. Built in 1365, it was used for many years as a prison. It ceased to be the town gaol in 1867 when a purpose built prison was built on Grimston Road, near the station. It now forms part of St Albans School. In the Gatehouse Prison, offenders were given bread but there was no heating. Passing strangers often heard a pleading voice from within begging them to put alms into an old shoe, which the prisoners let down by string from a window, to enable them to have a fire. Apparently prisoners could escape from the prison by climbing out of a window and jumping on to a tree.
Duplicate image of 1994.287. See also 2007.5429 (not scanned).
  • engraving
  • Hassell, J.
1817
  • Georgian (1714 - 1837)
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 18:37:22
8187_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
531.00 KB
1529 px
2520 px
359