We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

2006.54941

2006.54941
2006.54941
2006.54941
2006.54941
Comments (0)
4499
"Monastery Gate, St Albans."
2006.54941
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Postcards
2006.54941
Monchrome postcard showing the view looking down Abbey Mill Lane through St Albans Abbey Gateway. No postmark. The Abbey Gateway is the only building that remains of the monastery buildings of the Abbey of St Albans. Built in 1365, it was used for many years as a prison. It ceased to be the town gaol in 1867 when a purpose built prison was built on Grimston Road, near the station. It now forms part of St Albans School. In the Gatehouse Prison, offenders were given bread but there was no heating. Passing strangers often heard a pleading voice from within begging them to put alms into an old shoe, which the prisoners let down by string from a window, to enable them to have a fire. Apparently prisoners could escape from the prison by climbing out of a window and jumping on to a tree.
Unwritten
  • postcard
  • [unknown]
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 21:30:58
9950_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
422.00 KB
1450 px
2260 px
113