We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

1994.203

1994.203
1994.203
1994.203
1994.203
Comments (0)
3648
"South east view of the Abbey gate at St. Albans."
1994.203
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Prints, watercolours and drawings
1994.203
1994.200, 1994.201, 1994.202
"South east view of the Abbey gate at St. Albans. Drawn 1775 Engrave'd & Publishe'd Jan.y 1786 by J.Carter Part of a set of four prints. These four were accompanied by a note headed "Jonathan Nield, Book and Print Seller, 14, Great Russell St., W.C." Dated London 25 Oct. [18]99, adressed to "Dr. Puddlecombe, on approval. St Albans, four views by J Carter 1786. Scarce." The Abbey Gateway is the only building that remains of the monastery buildings of the Abbey of St Albans. Built in 1365, it was used for many years as a prison. It ceased to be the town gaol in 1867 when a purpose built prison was built on Grimston Road, near the station. It now forms part of St Albans School. In the Gatehouse Prison, offenders were given bread but there was no heating. Passing strangers often heard a pleading voice from within begging them to put alms into an old shoe, which the prisoners let down by string from a window, to enable them to have a fire. Apparently prisoners could escape from the prison by climbing out of a window and jumping on to a tree.
Part of a set of four prints (1994.200, 1994.201, 1994.202, 1994.203).
  • engraving
  • Carter, J.
1786
  • Georgian (1714 - 1837)
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 18:38:27
8192_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
291.00 KB
1884 px
1368 px
11