We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

2006.54871

2006.54871
2006.54871
2006.54871
2006.54871
Comments (0)
4492
"The Old Monastery, St Albans."
2006.54871
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Postcards
2006.54871
Monochrome postcard showing St Albans Abbey Gateway viewed from the South, surrounded by a wood-effect frame. No postmark. The Abbey Gateway is the only building that remains of the monastery buildings of the Abbey of St Albans. Built in 1365, it was used for many years as a prison. It ceased to be the town gaol in 1867 when a purpose built prison was built on Grimston Road, near the station. It now forms part of St Albans School. In the Gatehouse Prison, offenders were given bread but there was no heating. Passing strangers often heard a pleading voice from within begging them to put alms into an old shoe, which the prisoners let down by string from a window, to enable them to have a fire. Apparently prisoners could escape from the prison by climbing out of a window and jumping on to a tree.
Unwritten.
  • postcard
  • T. Marston & Sons, Luton
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 21:29:45
9933_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
454.00 KB
1466 px
2272 px
56