We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

Tudor Bricks

Tudor Bricks
Tudor Bricks
Tudor Bricks
Tudor Bricks
Comments (0)
3256
Tudor Bricks
Tudor Bricks
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Museum of St Albans artefacts
Tudor bricks from Sir Richard Lee's House (also known as Sopwell Nunnery). The house was built of brick and flint, with stone surrounds to the doorways and windows. Sir Richard Lee (c.1513-1575) was a professional soldier and military engineer. Following the dissolution of St Albans Abbey he purchased the grounds of the abbey (the abbey itself was given to the people of St Albans), Sopwell Priory and the rectorship of St Stephen's church. He tore down the priory and built a Tudor house on the site which he named Lee Hall. The ruins of this house still survive today, on Cottonmill Lane. He is also believed to have plundered a bronze eagle lectern previously belonging to the Bishop of Dunkeld from Holyrood Abbey during an attack on Edinburgh in 1544 (see accession numbers 1983.2473 and 1998.5088 for illustrations of this lectern).
  • digital photograph
  • St Albans Museums photographer
  • Tudor (1485 - 1603)
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 17:13:40
7383_3.jpg
Image
JPEG
115.00 KB
1021 px
1536 px
279