We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

"The King's Head Inn , Bishop's Stortford" (1828)

"The King's Head Inn , Bishop's Stortford" (1828)
"The King's Head Inn , Bishop's Stortford" (1828)
"The King's Head Inn , Bishop's Stortford" (1828)
"The King's Head Inn , Bishop's Stortford" (1828)
Comments (0)
202
"The King's Head Inn , Bishop's Stortford" (1828)
"The King's Head Inn , Bishop's Stortford" (1828)
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Prints, watercolours and drawings
The King's Head Inn, Bishop's Stortford (1828). Lithographs: 'Drawn on stone by C L Tyler, Drawing Master, Bishop's Stortford' In 1828 the townsmen of Bishop's Stortford made a great demonstration of civic pride by commissioning a new Corn Exchange for the centre of their town. It was designed in the Neo-Greek style by the London architect Lewis Vulliamy, and appears to have been imitated at St Albans, where the classical Town Hall was begun in the following year. Our artist, C L Tyler, carefully portrayed the town as it was before the destruction of the King's Head Inn and many old houses. Both his views are taken from the same point, just outside an 'Egyptian Hall' which must also have been a recent novelty. Tyler shows a characteristic Hertfordshire farm wagon - empty, and with only two horses - outside the old inn. (It is drawn too small and the passenger much too large.) Despite the purpose of the Corn Exchange, no such rustic touch has been allowed to creep into the new scene. Today the Corn Exchange has been restored as a shopping and office development, and the narrow streets are a bottle neck for traffic.
  • lithograph
  • Tyler, C.L.
1828
  • Georgian (1714 - 1837)
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 16:52:50
528_3.jpg
Image
JPEG
308.00 KB
1167 px
1536 px
542