We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

1994.279

1994.279
1994.279
1994.279
1994.279
Comments (0)
3408
"Gate of St Albans Abbey, Hertfordshire."
1994.279
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Prints, watercolours and drawings
1994.279
2006.5025
"Gate of St Albans Abbey, Hertfordshire." View of St Albans Abbey Gateway with two figures in the foreground. "J.Newton direxit" (referring to a master who directs of a group of engravers). Published June 23rd 1787 by S.Hooper. The Abbey Gateway is the only building that remains of the monastery buildings of the Abbey of St Albans. Built in 1365, it was used for many years as a prison. It ceased to be the town gaol in 1867 when a purpose built prison was built on Grimston Road, near the station. It now forms part of St Albans School. In the Gatehouse Prison, offenders were given bread but there was no heating. Passing strangers often heard a pleading voice from within begging them to put alms into an old shoe, which the prisoners let down by string from a window, to enable them to have a fire. Apparently prisoners could escape from the prison by climbing out of a window and jumping on to a tree.
See also 2006.5025, duplicate of this engraving plus accompanying text. http://palimpsest.stanford.edu/byform/mailing-lists/exlibris/1997/08/msg00104.html
  • etching
  • [unknown]
1787
  • Georgian (1714 - 1837)
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 17:44:51
7668_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
966.00 KB
1931 px
2440 px
459