We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

2000.6281

2000.6281
2000.6281
2000.6281
2000.6281
Comments (0)
3359
St Albans Abbey Gateway
2000.6281
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Alf Gentle
2000.6281
Photograph of a photograph (perhaps a postcard?) of the Abbey Gateway with old house attached, prior to extension to St Albans School. The Abbey Gateway is the only building that remains of the monastery buildings of the Abbey of St Albans. Built in 1365, it was used for many years as a prison. It ceased to be the town gaol in 1867 when a purpose built prison was built on Grimston Road, near the station. It now forms part of St Albans School. In the Gatehouse Prison, offenders were given bread but there was no heating. Passing strangers often heard a pleading voice from within begging them to put alms into an old shoe, which the prisoners let down by string from a window, to enable them to have a fire. Apparently prisoners could escape from the prison by climbing out of a window and jumping on to a tree.
  • photographic slide
  • Gentle, Alf
  • post-War (1945 - present)
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 17:34:34
7576_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
626.00 KB
1965 px
3072 px
788