We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

2006.54891

2006.54891
2006.54891
2006.54891
2006.54891
Comments (0)
4494
"Old Monastery Gateway, St Albans"
2006.54891
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Postcards
2006.54891
2006.5810
Monchrome postcard showing St Albans Abbey Gateway viewed from the South with St Albans School buildings behind it. No postmark. The Abbey Gateway is the only building that remains of the monastery buildings of the Abbey of St Albans. Built in 1365, it was used for many years as a prison. It ceased to be the town gaol in 1867 when a purpose built prison was built on Grimston Road, near the station. It now forms part of St Albans School. In the Gatehouse Prison, offenders were given bread but there was no heating. Passing strangers often heard a pleading voice from within begging them to put alms into an old shoe, which the prisoners let down by string from a window, to enable them to have a fire. Apparently prisoners could escape from the prison by climbing out of a window and jumping on to a tree.
Unwritten. Duplicate of Valentine postcard 2006.5810, which has same serial number (75505 J.V.).
  • postcard
  • Valentine & Sons Ltd., Dundee and London
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 21:30:08
9945_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
562.00 KB
1493 px
2336 px
10