We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

2005.5810

2005.5810
2005.5810
2005.5810
2005.5810
Comments (0)
4556
'The Builder' magazine, January 1883 - "St Albans School Board - School For Boys, Hatfield Road".
2005.5810
Social History (Museum of St Albans)
  • Prints, watercolours and drawings
2005.5810
2000.6737
Page from 'The Builder' magazine, January 20, 1883, showing a plan of the School for Boys on Hatfield Road, St Albans, which was demolished to build the Art College, now the University of Hertfordshire Law Faculty. In the top right is an illustration of the school building with boys playing outside. Drawn by John and S Flint Clarkson, Architects, printed by Wyman and Sons, Printers, Great Queen Street, published by Whiteman & Bass Photo-Litho, 236, High Holborn. The board schools in St Albans were built around the end of the nineteenth century following two acts of parliament in 1870 and 1876 which established the prinicples of universal compulsory education for all children until the age of 12. They also included Bernard's Heath School, Camp School, Alma Road School and Garden Fields School on Catherine Street (now the Jubilee Centre).
Compare picture with Gentle 2000.6737
  • lithograph
  • Flint Clarkson, John & S.
1883
  • Victorian (1837 - 1901)
tasks-admin
2016-02-29 21:43:14
10070_4.jpg
Image
JPEG
461.00 KB
1859 px
2872 px
521